What’s ICEF?

Every year since 2014, the Government of Japan’s Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry, and NEDO have hosted the Innovation for Cool Earth Forum (ICEF) to gather leading international figures in Tokyo to discuss how to combat climate change through technological innovation.

ICEF’s mission is to nurture discussion and collaboration among participants and to disseminate the industry’s latest innovations in energy and environmental technologies by providing a place where experts can share their knowledge on how to tackle the 21st century’s greatest environmental challenge.

A distinguished steering committee, consisting of members from all around the world, strives to bring the best minds together to develop a program which address forces of change while ensuring they are based on solid evidence.

Participants are invited from industry, academia, and governments to exchange knowledge, to challenge each other, and to listen to renowned speakers discuss the latest developments in social and technological innovation.

The conference is a great opportunity to meet a wide range of high-level and committed participants, and a place to learn about the latest technological innovations from Japan and around the world.

Steering Committee


Tanaka Nobuo (Chair)

Chair, Innovation for Cool Earth Forum (ICEF)
Steering Committee;
Former Executive Director, International
Energy Agency (IEA)


Sally M. Benson

Department of Energy Resources Engineering, School of Earth,
Energy & Environmental Sciences,
Stanford University;
Former Co-Director,
Precourt Institute for Energy,
Stanford University


Georg Erdmann

Retired Professor for Energy Systems,
Berlin University of Technology;
President of the Board, KSB Energie AG, Berlin


Eija-Riitta Korhola

Delegate of the Consultative Commission
on Industrial Change;
Advisor in the EU Affairs


Kuroda Reiko

Designated Professor,
Frontier Research Institute,
Chubu University;
Professor Emeritus,
The University of Tokyo


Hoesung Lee

Chair of the Intergovernmental Panel on
Climate Change (IPCC);
Endowed Chair Professor, Graduate School of
Energy and Environment, Korea University


Richard K. Lester

Associate Provost,
Massachusetts Institute of Technology


Jon Moore

Chief Executive Officer,


Valli Moosa

Head of the South African Presidential Climate Change Coordinating Commission;
Former President of the International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources (IUCN)


Nebojsa Nakicenovic

Executive Director, The World in 2050 (TWI2050);
Emeritus Scholar, International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA)


David Sandalow

Inaugural Fellow, Center on Global Energy Policy,
Columbia University;
Co-Director, Energy and
Environment Concentration,
School of International and Public Affairs,
Columbia University


Ismail Serageldin

Emeritus Librarian of Alexandria;
Founding Director of the Library of Alexandria


Vaclav Smil

Distinguished Professor Emeritus,
University of Manitoba


Laurence Tubiana

CEO, European Climate Foundation;
Chair of the Board of Governors,
French Development Agency (AFD);
Professor, Sciences Po Paris


Yamaji Kenji

Research Institute of Innovative Technology
for the Earth (RITE);
Professor Emeritus,
The University of Tokyo


Yasui Itaru

Honorary Adviser,
National Institute of Technology
and Evaluation (NITE);
Emeritus Professor,
The University of Tokyo;
Honorary Adviser,
Institute for Promoting Sustainable Societies